At Home in Colorado

Colorado has a special spot in my heart. It is that spot I have reserved for places that, when I visit them, make me think, “Why don’t I live here?” Colorado has better weather, a more diverse landscape, and an even more bountiful array of outdoor activities. Anyway, I have found that the second best thing to living in a place you love is knowing people in that place and being able to visit them. I’m fortunate to have family and friends in Westcliffe, a charming small town nestled in the Wet Mountain Valley at the base of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains, and Crawford, an even smaller town in western Colorado embraced by mesas, canyons, and mountains.

sunset

sunset over the Sangre de Cristos — Westcliffe, CO

karla ranch

It’s the rancher’s life for me — Crawford, CO

rays of light

 

brian with dog

We all felt the wind in our hair/fur.

 

dragon head

view from Bishop Castle, a one man work of art. The castle has been in a constant state of construction since 1969.

ZANDER

hamming it up for the camera

 

mountain view

Just out of frame there is a beautiful log cabin overlooking, well, this. This mess of aspens and canyons and mountain vistas. I can’t imagine waking up to this each day.

 

tired dog

tired as a, well, dog

 

karla and horse

horse whisperer

bones

One of my favorite things about this trip was the multitude of BONES I found and brought back with me. Nothing like a coyote jawbone to really spruce up your home decor.

COWBOY CAR

Ride, Cowboy, ride.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “At Home in Colorado

  1. Your photographs are stunning! Regarding places we love, I, too, think there is something to be said of having a place (or several places) where our hearts are at home but we do not live. Assuming that I like wherever I currently am, I find that I gain a certain peace and hopefulness just by knowing that other beloved places exist that I can look forward to visiting. (The White Mountains are one such place for me.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

