Souvenirs

When I’m away on a trip one of my favorite things to do is hunt for souvenirs that will remind me of my travels. This means that I will skip the kitschy t-shirts, shot glasses, and monogrammed key chains and venture outside to look for my treasures. Gnarly pieces of driftwood and smooth, ancient rocks are always fun to hunt for on Lake Superior. In the scrub brush of Colorado my favorite finds are sun-bleached bones. With these and other natural objects I decorate my house, and as a result am reminded daily of my cross-country travels. This daily dose of memories helps subdue the travel bug until life permits another journey.

jaw bones

 

A simple piece of driftwood gets new life as a jewelry holder.

A simple piece of driftwood gets new life as a jewelry holder.

 

 

another version

another version

 

NECKLACE MN

A smooth rock is transformed into a pendant.

 

 

This particular bone stands upright and makes a great incense holder.

This particular bone stands upright and makes a great incense holder.

Leave a Reply

